different brands of terry squares

My avatar
Rutella
Clothie
Clothie

different brands of terry squares

Postby Rutella » Fri Aug 14, 2009 8:15 am

Hi everyone :idea:
I am a newbie to this whole malarky as my first baby isn't due till november, but am keen to use cloth. I have a mixture of nappies to try out but want some terry squares too. What I was wondering is are the different brands very different in quality? And if so does that matter a great deal? The brands I have seen the most have been junior joy, whitebots (and brightbots), nature babies and little ewe.
Thanks for your help!!

My avatar
dawnsmummy
Cloth Nappy Ninky Nonk
Cloth Nappy Ninky Nonk

Re: different brands of terry squares

Postby dawnsmummy » Sat Aug 15, 2009 4:59 pm

I have both Mothercare's and JJ's squares and I much prefer the JJ ones. They're fluffier (after less washes!) and I find slightly larger. They both take the same time to dry, and the JJ ones were cheaper (I paid £15 for 12 JJ, and £9.99 for 6 MC!)

Can I just suggest Nappi Nippas (Snappi nappis) to you too? They're brilliant inventions! I hate using pins because my DD is such a wriggler and is normally running while I put her nappy on :hohoho: So with the Nippa and Snappi I know I'm not pinning the nappy to her legs! You can normally get them for about £1.50 each or £3something for 3pack. Sometimes people are offering them FFP on here too.

And try the origami fold for a newborn. I'm sure others can suggest folds, as I didn't really use terrys till DD was older, but I was showing my friend diff folds and she said that the origami fold seemed the best for a newborn. But don't quote me to that! Google 'terry nappy folds' or 'terry diaper folds' and you'll get TONS of sites :)

[ETA: Sorry, it's not Origami fold (Brain not working) it's the bat/chinese fold. Here: http://www.thenappylady.co.uk/public/ar ... spx?id=146
A lot of people also reccoemend the Jo fold. Here: http://www.thenappylady.co.uk/public/ar ... spx?id=141