My Veg patch

My avatar
Little Pants
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict
Site Supporter

My Veg patch

Postby Little Pants » Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:39 am

My veg patch is looking at it's best - everything in, and not a caterpillar in site yet! :giggle:

So I thought I'd take some photos and here they are.

http://www.littlepants.co.uk/photos/main.php?g2_itemId=499

I've shown you mine, so show me yours! :hohoho:

My avatar
Cj2011
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Re: My Veg patch

Postby Cj2011 » Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:06 pm

Mine is tiny in comparison :oops:
This is my first year attempting to grow anything so I'm quite proud of it :giggle:
I've got onions, red onions, spring onions, garlic, carrots, parsnips, turnips, peas, potatoes and rhubarb outside, oh and sunflowers :D
and in the greenhouse I have tomatoes, strawberries, sweet peppers, chilli peppers, lettuce, herbs and kiwis, melons, watermelons and pumpkins that DS planted.

Before I planted anything

and now

the greenhouse

And my strawberries nearly ready to pick :D

My avatar
Little Pants
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict
Site Supporter

Postby Little Pants » Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:05 pm

Wow! They look really lush - fantastic if you've never done it before - Well done. I reckon you've been hugging them :cnthug:

Are you eating anything yet? We've had loads of rhubarb already, just starting to eat the lettuce, just finished last year's spinach, as this years is ready to start cutting - ditto with parsley, which I've just frozen the last of. Peas and broad beans flowering, so should be eating them soon. The overwintered onions are ready to lift and ripen. .

Oh, and I made a load of mint sauce yesterday, which will keep for a year. I just liquidise the leaves in a tiny bit of vinegar, and keep the resulting puree in the fridge, to mix with more vinegar and a bit of sugar as we need it. It's absolutely delicious.