hf1

Help! tell me about using dryers

My avatar
tiyuricc
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Help! tell me about using dryers

Postby tiyuricc » Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:35 am

i managed to aquire a temporary washer since ours blew up on the weekend :wine: turns out its a washer/dryer. with the backlog of washing i think the dryer may be useful...although i expect it to be completely rubbish.

i've never used a dryer before...so tell me please.... what clothing can go in a dryer? or what can't if that's easier. i don't want to shrink/ruin things :giggle: and what about nappies? anything to avoid there?

and any tips/tricks?

thank you!

My avatar
Tara84
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Re: Help! tell me about using dryers

Postby Tara84 » Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:47 am

washer dryers tend to take ages to dry stuff and aren't as good as a seperate dryer but even if it's not a great one it should help speed things up if you've got a backlog.
You should be able to adjust the heat on it, bamboo needs to go on a low heat or it goes a bit crunchy/rubbery. As for clothes your best checking the label, the tumble dryer sign looks like a square with a circle inside it, if it's crossed out it can't go in, if it's got a dot inside the circle it can go on low heat and if it's just a square with a circle it can go on high heat.

My avatar
Kirstyh
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox

Postby Kirstyh » Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:58 am

Not a fan of washer dryers, they take for ever creating a load of steam.
Things not to put in them, I don't do vests, t-shirts, leggings, basically anything jersey, wool, etc. Nappy wise, no pul but the rest I put in it just has to be on a low heat x

My avatar
tiyuricc
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Postby tiyuricc » Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:11 am

Thank you! shame that most of the backlog is jersey :lol: