hf1

Can you recommend any bum creams to treat yeast infections?

My avatar
lady ri
Clothie
Clothie

Can you recommend any bum creams to treat yeast infections?

Postby lady ri » Sat Oct 27, 2012 8:30 pm

My LO (5 mths) has got thrush again after just finishing a course of nystatin. A quick google has thrown up creams such as northern essence better butter cream and motherlove but these are sold in USA. Is there anything available in the UK suitable for cloth?

Appreciate any advice as I'm at the end of my tether!

My avatar
littlesez
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Site Supporter

Re: Can you recommend any bum creams to treat yeast infections?

Postby littlesez » Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:30 pm

Pretty sure no bum cream will treat a yeast infection ? But I am not a doctor so would be best to ask them . Isobella gets sore bits a lot and we use greenbaby nappy balm and is the only thing I would put on it we have nothing in the bath water even x

My avatar
Louise
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox

Postby Louise » Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:40 pm

littlesez wrote:Pretty sure no bum cream will treat a yeast infection ? But I am not a doctor so would be best to ask them . Isobella gets sore bits a lot and we use greenbaby nappy balm and is the only thing I would put on it we have nothing in the bath water even x

^This. You'll need to go to the GP for an antifungal cream to get rid of thrush (plus wash all the nappies at 60) Any cream is cloth friendly provided you use liners. Sometimes you may need to strip the liners if you've been using a lot of cream for a prolonged time but otherwise it should be fine.

My avatar
aimeet
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Postby aimeet » Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:59 pm

What about aloe or coconut oil, both have antifungal properties. Also anything with oregano in. Its amazing stuff.
You can buy coconut oil in carribean shops cheaper than health shops too. Hth xx

My avatar
lady ri
Clothie
Clothie