hf1

Poop advice - not sure where to put question sorry.

My avatar
dodda
Clothie
Clothie

Poop advice - not sure where to put question sorry.

Postby dodda » Thu May 10, 2012 11:46 am

Hi

I'm new to reusable nappies so I'm sorry if this is a silly question. My son 2 years suffers with allergies and a very sensitive tummy so has maybe 2-3 poops a day (sometimes more) which are quite messy and explosive (sorry TMI) and get everywhere on disposables and very often come out the top and sides (they are never solid). I wish I knew before that reusables are suppose to be better at containing messes than disposables as it would have saved sooooo much washing!!!! They are also very smelly and sticky to clean up. DH is reluctant to use reusables on him because he is a bit worried about how much poop we'll have to clean off the nappies and how much they will smell in the wash bin......

Any tips on handling over active tummies in reuseables? I have already posted a thread about how many layers of inserts to use as I was thinking the less inserts the less things to get messy, I've heard of dunking or flushing in the toilet before going in the wash bin and have ordered some fleece to cut up to make wipes. I'm not very good at sewing but do have a machine and was just reading its easier to clean poop with towelling wipes so would a double fleece / towelling wipe be a good idea? I plan on washing every 2 - 3 days so any tips so the bin doesn't stink the place out and any other ideas oh how to get the poop off the nappies? Any other tips greatly appreciated as we really want to give it a good try.....

Thanks for your help.
xx

My avatar
red_dwarf
Cloth Nappy Aficionado
Cloth Nappy Aficionado

Re: Poop advice - not sure where to put question sorry.

Postby red_dwarf » Thu May 10, 2012 11:49 am

If you dunk them and get most of the poop off, they wont stink out the nappy bucket dont worry :wink: My LO's Night nappies smell far far far worse than his poopy ones

My avatar
justme123