hf1

Prefolds for newborns before pockets or AIO's?

My avatar
Lilac14
Clothie
Clothie

Prefolds for newborns before pockets or AIO's?

Postby Lilac14 » Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:03 pm

I'm totally new to cloth nappies (and currently pregnant with my first). I am thinking of getting the bumgenius one sized pockets (As I keep hearing how great hey are and see very few complains) but hear they are not good for newborns so was thinking of getting some prefolds and covers to last me until the BG pockets do. This is really to keep the cost down as I didn't want to get a load of newborn nappies that are not going to last. I hear really mixed reviews about prefolds though... Can't decide what to do. Any advise is much appreciated.

My avatar
Sophiebeth23
Cloth Nappy Nutter
Cloth Nappy Nutter

Re: Prefolds for newborns before pockets or AIO's?

Postby Sophiebeth23 » Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:51 pm

I love prefolds we still use them regularly and my dd is nearly 7 months old.

My avatar
confusinglady
Cloth Nappy Passionata
Cloth Nappy Passionata

Postby confusinglady » Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:42 pm

Prefolds will definitely keep the cost down and they dry quickly which is very handy for a small person.

I don t think anyone has ever fallen in love with prefolds ;)
I used exclusively on dd1 pad folded in a wrap. I used to nippa them on dd2 to avoid as much leakage on to the wrap.
I would go for more wraps if you re using prefolds as the prefolds won t catch much poo, the wrap will. So I d recommend a wrap with a gusset.
I use them now on Ds as I know they won t leak on me ;)

Hth!

My avatar
Sophiebeth23
Cloth Nappy Nutter
Cloth Nappy Nutter

Postby Sophiebeth23 » Wed Jul 23, 2014 9:23 pm

I'm strange I prefer my prefolds out of my whole stash. They are my love don't ever get leaks.

My avatar
confusinglady
Cloth Nappy Passionata
Cloth Nappy Passionata

Postby confusinglady » Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:10 am