Any advice would be gratefully appreciated

My avatar
StephSteph
Clothie
Clothie

Any advice would be gratefully appreciated

Postby StephSteph » Fri Apr 29, 2016 7:56 pm

Hi,

I'm a newbie here and I am glad I've found a site full of cloth nappy users. No one I know uses these nappies and I must say I'm fed up of hearing the question "but what do you do with a poo-ey nappy?".

I'm after some advice. I am currently using Little Bloom nappies and although I love the simplicity and colourful prints, I must say I'm getting quite fed up with having to change my daughter's clothes every few hours. What are the best inserts to use? I'm currently using microfiber inserts.

I was also given a huge lot of size 1 & 2 Bambino Mio Soft which I haven't even taken out of the wardrobe. The pre-folds are in good condition but the outer wraps look very tatty. Not sure if I should try and use the pre-folds in the Little Blooms. Is any body else doing this?

If anyone can offer me some advice, I would be really grateful.

Thanks,

Steph

My avatar
ems101
Cloth Nappy Disciple
Cloth Nappy Disciple

Re: Any advice would be gratefully appreciated

Postby ems101 » Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:56 pm

Hi! Welcome to the tree!

I think a lot of people pass through the microfibre stage quickly. It can be useful, but I'd definitely start to look at other inserts. Do you know what the mio soft are made of? I'd give them a try! Bamboo is excellent for absorbing. How old is your daughter? Pre weaning, they obviously pass alot more water, so a fitted nappy might do you better. Even after weaning alot of people swear by them. The other option is to stuff the pockets with a range. So for my 1st, we used a MF for quick absorption, with a couple of bamboo or hemp boosters underneath to slowly soak up and hold the wet.

Try that and come back to us. Leaks can happen for other reasons too. Eg if she's wearing tight leggings, wicking might occur.

My avatar
StephSteph
Clothie
Clothie