probably a silly question...

My avatar
aimeet
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

probably a silly question...

Postby aimeet » Fri Jan 29, 2010 7:37 pm

Hi all,
I'm new to nappies but need some help. I am expecting in April and have been getting my stash sorted, lolts of lovely newborn fluff, I love it. I have gone for easy ones like tots and bamboozles, a few 'posh' nappies like mutts and blueberries. Most of my stash is preloved so I can afford to experiment a bit.

I have a couple of questions to ask though:

1) I don't have a tumble drier so can I put any cotton/bamboo nappies on the radiator or will it damage them? I know that wraps can't go on one and I can get them dry on the airer anyway but wondered about winter drying.

2)can I wash my nappies in ecover or similar washing products and should I use powder or liquid?

Sorry if these seem like stupid questions but I can't experiment yet due to lack of a tiny bum on which to put them!

thanks- Aimee :idea:

My avatar
Frances
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman

Re: probably a silly question...

Postby Frances » Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:08 pm

:idea: Aimee
aimeet wrote:1) I don't have a tumble drier so can I put any cotton/bamboo nappies on the radiator or will it damage them? I know that wraps can't go on one and I can get them dry on the airer anyway but wondered about winter drying.

You can put cotton on radiators, but bamboo will deteriorate if placed on direct heat; the fibres break up. I tumble sometimes, but in winter mainly dry all my nappies on a rack near a radiator. You'll find that cotton dries much quicker than bamboo - my cotton nappies dry in 24 hours near a radiator, bamboo can take more like two or three days. Best to factor that in when buying your stash! Bamboo is generally much more absorbent than cotton though, and is an 'eco' crop, so is my favourite fabric for nappies.