hf1

Help needed for a newbie :)

My avatar
Mummyof3xxx
Clothie
Clothie

Help needed for a newbie :)

Postby Mummyof3xxx » Sat Jan 30, 2010 9:32 am

Hi everyone, I am a newbie to washable nappies, I have always used disposable, don't know why! I have recently been given a load of cotton bottoms, it might be easier if I take pics of what I have, but I have the waterproof outers with velcro fastening, and the rectangle fabric that folds into 3 to make the pad?? Also a load of flushable liners, would I need anything else with these? Or if these are no good, can you advise me what would be best? My daughter is 10 months next week, so going on weight she would be a medium or size 2.

Thanks in advance xx

My avatar
megansmummy
Cloth Nappy Goddess
Cloth Nappy Goddess

Re: Help needed for a newbie :)

Postby megansmummy » Sat Jan 30, 2010 9:43 am

They are prefolds and covers...there is a section for those here
viewforum.php?f=10

basically prefolds can be used by themselves if you fold them prefold into three so that its a pad like you aid and then lay it in the cover, you can either use a flushable liner or a fleece/minkee liner which will keep you babies bottom dry. Becuase prefolds are flat nappies and dont have elasticed leg bits you can find that they leak onto the covers more than a fitted nappy, When i used prefolds on my daughter I often folded them onto her and fastened with a nappy nippa as i found this offered better containment, here is a link to show you how...
http://diaperpages.com/pf_folds.php

I dont think that just a prefold and a cover would be enough for nighttime though without some kind of booster of a deddicated night nappy, alot of us use Weenotions night notions for nights or bedbugs and these often come up in the classifieds...