hf1

Best type of nappy for a newborn?

My avatar
rachymoo
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Best type of nappy for a newborn?

Postby rachymoo » Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:36 pm

We are TTC baby #2 (so this is a bit premature seeing as I'm not even pregnant yet :giggle: never mind lol!), DD is 15 months old and I am a newbie to cloth, better late than never I suppose lol. I've treated DD (me :D ) to a couple of gorgeous Itti Bitti D'lishs, but was then planning on investing in a few birth to pottys (all in ones or pockets) so that I could use them on her and then use them for the new baby.

However - I've been told that although they are 'birth to potty', they aren't that good on newborns/small babies, is this right? If so, am I better getting some small sized pockets/AIOs (I think these are my fave type, not tried fitted/2part yet but willing to give them a go), or would the fitted/2parters with wraps be better for a newborn? Opinions please.. Thanks :) xx

My avatar
Fayesmum
Cloth Nappy Passionata
Cloth Nappy Passionata

Re: Best type of nappy for a newborn?

Postby Fayesmum » Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:47 pm

We found fitteds and wraps better for containing poo explosions when Faye was nb, I did have a pocket and an aio but may as well used disposables cause they held nothing :shock: We use itti's and pockets as well as fitteds now (she is 17mnths) and don't have any problems with containment

Little lambs have a good rep for tinies :wink:

My avatar
littlesez
Cloth Nappy Guru
Cloth Nappy Guru
Site Supporter

Postby littlesez » Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:57 pm

My bubs didnt get a good fit with BTP really and she wasnt that small either at 8lbs.

The thing is with newborn nappies is they are outgrown so quickly! If you want smalls i would recomend getting them preloved then you can just sell them on again :) so your not spending loads of money for nappies that are outgrown in a few weeks.