hf1

How??!!

My avatar
tanya
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman

How??!!

Postby tanya » Sun Jun 27, 2010 12:30 pm

I've read so many times that for a newborn, you need 10-12 nappies per day. And I am wondering, how can you need so many nappies per day?

Jake sleeps for 3.5-6 hours at a time and I don't wake him to change his nappy. There is no way I could possibly need more than 6 or 7 nappies in a day, and that is taking into account the times when I change his nappy and he poops immediately (or mis-positioning of his willy and him peeing straight out the side or top :giggle: )

Am I just being grim and not changing my son enough? I've never done this bit in cloth before. Bella was 6 weeks old before she went into cloth.

My avatar
lazylexis
Cloth Nappy Worshipper
Cloth Nappy Worshipper

Re: How??!!

Postby lazylexis » Sun Jun 27, 2010 12:34 pm

I think we went through 8 to 10 a day.only because nathan had a habit of pooing 4 times in an hour and every time he fed.

My avatar
vampiredreams
Cloth Nappy Fanatic
Cloth Nappy Fanatic

Postby vampiredreams » Sun Jun 27, 2010 12:34 pm

When Aoife was that young I changed her every feed, every poop and failing that every 2=3 hours...paranoid mummy here who didn't want any rashes :giggle:

My avatar
tanya
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman

Postby tanya » Sun Jun 27, 2010 12:39 pm

I change every feed, and he usually poops whilst he is feeding - he is yet to do it after a feed. I usually change him between his boob and bottle (he is mixed fed and has boob first then a bottle). This sometimes means I have to change him after his bottle as well, but not often. But as he is only feeding every 3.5 - 6 hours (depending on time of day - he sleeps more at night, YAY!!) and sleeps like the dead in between, I am only changing him then. I'm using fleece liners in all the non-fleece lined nappies which are keeping his bum bone-dry.

My avatar
tiyuricc
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies