Stain removal help

My avatar
stormy_weather
Clothie
Clothie

Stain removal help

Postby stormy_weather » Mon Aug 09, 2010 8:58 pm

Hello,

I'm pretty new to cloth nappies and I have a question. This may be impossible to do, but if anyone has a tip on how to remove stains that would be great.

I'm using motherease Sandys (some bamboo and some cotton) with my 9 week old son. I also have a tots bots bamboo stretchy. All are working well, but I get orangey stains on the nappies despite washing at 60 degrees, even if washed immediately after use.

Are these stains just something you have to live with, or is there a way to get the stains out? I don't want to use biological powder or anything that would be harsh on my son's skin. I'm already using liners but it's going through the liners. He's breast fed too, if that makes a difference.

Thanks for any advice!

XXX

My avatar
autumnalgirl
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Re: Stain removal help

Postby autumnalgirl » Mon Aug 09, 2010 9:00 pm

Breast fed poo stains generally sun out :D ! So if you have a washing line they should come outside, otherwise if you put them on the windowsill, near a window that should help, but might take a bit longer!
Congratulations on your new son!
Christi

My avatar
caz88
Cloth Nappy Follower
Cloth Nappy Follower

Postby caz88 » Mon Aug 09, 2010 9:01 pm

I am assuming they are poo stains? Could you try rinsing before the wash to wash away the worst of it, then washing at 40 is fine (read somewhere 60 sets the stain in...not sure if this is the case) then hang outside in the sun to get rid of stains...HTHs

My avatar
stormy_weather
Clothie
Clothie

Postby stormy_weather » Mon Aug 09, 2010 9:15 pm

ooh, will give both of these a try. I would like to wash at 40 and save some pennies too. I turned it up to 60 because of these stains but that still didn't work so maybe sun or a pre-rinse is the answer.

Now if only we got more year-round sunshine where I live!

Thank you!!!