what are longies, shorties and soakers?

My avatar
stormy_weather
Clothie
Clothie

what are longies, shorties and soakers?

Postby stormy_weather » Tue Aug 10, 2010 9:30 pm

Hello, I'm a newbie....

I see lots of posts about longies, shorties and woolies. They look lovely but what are they? Are they used instead of a waterproof wrap? Are soakers meant to get soaked?

Might like to try these for winter if I know what they are by then. :wink:

My avatar
becky1978
Cloth Nappy Fanatic
Cloth Nappy Fanatic

Re: what are longies, shorties and soakers?

Postby becky1978 » Tue Aug 10, 2010 9:34 pm

Longies - long wooly trousers
Shorties - wooly shorts
Soakers - little wooly pants that go over fitteds.

All of these are used in lieu of wraps over fitteds. The longies and shorties are therefore clothing and nappy cover in one and soakers are generally used under things or for bedtime use.

100% wool is breathable and naturally water repellent once lanolised (soaked in lanolin melted in hot water) and lots of people prefer to use wool instead of wraps that contain PUL as it keeps their LO's skin cooler and less damp.

PLUS, wool is mega cute and comes in every colour combination under the rainbow to suit!

We use wool all year round as it keeps LO cool in summer as well as warm in winter, Archie is wearing shorties every day at the moment.

Hope that helps!
Last edited by becky1978 on Tue Aug 10, 2010 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

My avatar
Amanda
Cloth Nappy Worshipper
Cloth Nappy Worshipper

Postby Amanda » Tue Aug 10, 2010 9:39 pm

Hi