Help. leaky nappies in baby carrier. :-(

My avatar
mummy_goose1
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Help. leaky nappies in baby carrier. :-(

Postby mummy_goose1 » Wed May 18, 2011 8:31 am

Hi!
I'm still fairly new to cloth... but we're gettin on really well, and hardly having any leaks... other than when i put dd in her carrier. We have an ergo, and so far she only goes on my front facing in.
I have tried quite a few different nappies...but i always end up covered in wee and so does h! Not a good look for either of us!!
Am i just bein a ditz... or is there anythin i can do to prevent this??!
Thanks! X x

My avatar
rachymoo
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Re: Help. leaky nappies in baby carrier. :-(

Postby rachymoo » Wed May 18, 2011 8:41 am

It's compression wicking, I get the same problem sometimes. What nappies do you use? I find there's less leaking if I use fitteds rather than pockets/AIOs when DS is in the sling.

My avatar
monsterm
Cloth Nappy Worshipper
Cloth Nappy Worshipper

Postby monsterm » Wed May 18, 2011 8:44 am

There is a thread a good few months back about this. The carriers put extra pressure on the nappies squeezing out the moisture. If I remember correctly the best combo was fitted and wool with an extra booster (whether a nappy booster or a wool booster for the longies/soaker). Think some people put on 2 layers of wool in the winter.

My avatar
mummy_goose1
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Postby mummy_goose1 » Wed May 18, 2011 12:32 pm

thanks ladies!!
Ahh..... so far we are using pockets and AIO's..... so this is where i am going wrong - ah well - more excuse to buy more nappies!!!
:giggle: :giggle: :giggle:

Kirsty x

My avatar
red_dwarf
Cloth Nappy Aficionado
Cloth Nappy Aficionado

Postby red_dwarf » Wed May 18, 2011 12:37 pm