Nappies for a newborn

My avatar
moonfruit
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Nappies for a newborn

Postby moonfruit » Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:39 pm

Hi

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this. I am relatively new to cloth, but have started with older babies/ toddlers and have always used disposable nappies when they were tiny.

I have a feeling number 6 :oops: may be on the way and would like to start out as I mean to go on. I have been told muslins are a good with a newborn but am open to suggestions. What would you all suggest? The baby will be formula fed (had a boob reduction at 18 so can't breastfeed!)

Also have any of you used cloth in hospital? How supportive (or not) were the staff?

Thanking you all in advance, Lisa

My avatar
Soupdragon
Cloth Nappy Worshipper
Cloth Nappy Worshipper
Site Supporter

Re: Nappies for a newborn

Postby Soupdragon » Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:07 pm

AnnetteandBen and I have posted in the Newborn Modern Cloth Nappy Reviews section, here: viewforum.php?f=47

I never got to grips with muslins myself - too much like origami! I did take cloth to the hospital (our community midwife was fine about it), but I never got to use it as Iris ended up in the SCBU. At that point I had more important things to worry about then what was on her bum, so we didn't get her in cloth until day 6.

Of our stash, my fave cloth nappy for containment (Iris is breastfed) is our bamboo Sandy's nappy - although it's not the prettiest out there, it is quite slim fitting and never leaks.

Congrats on #6! :)

My avatar
Velvetsteph
Cloth Nappy Clanger
Cloth Nappy Clanger

Postby Velvetsteph » Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:42 pm

Just moved this into the cloth nappy chat bit...

Congrats on number 6!!

My avatar
Annette
Cloth Nappy Ninky Nonk
Cloth Nappy Ninky Nonk

Postby Annette » Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:40 pm