hf1

Advice needed on cloth nappies to a newbee!

My avatar
Ashley J
Clothie
Clothie

Advice needed on cloth nappies to a newbee!

Postby Ashley J » Wed Nov 23, 2011 6:56 pm

hey, I am new to cloth and have a 12 month old girl. I recently bought Charlie bananas and Real easy baby nappies, having problems with them leaking after two hours and wondered if anyone else has tried them?

My avatar
Bluebell
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Re: Advice needed on cloth nappies to a newbee!

Postby Bluebell » Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:01 pm

We like Real Easys but we use them with an extra booster (Easy Peasy Hemp or Little Lambs Bamboo or similar). Absorbancy should increase after a few washes too.

Not tried Charlie Bananas, are they pockets? What are you stuffing them with? Hemp/bamboo are more absorbant than microfibre, it might just be that you need to try some different inserts. (I'm assuming they're pocket nappies?!)

My avatar
runjumpclimbswim
Clothie
Clothie

Postby runjumpclimbswim » Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:40 pm

Hi,
I am a relative newbie too but the first thing I'd ask is if you're using both the inserts. If not, add the little one too and that ought to help. Wet get 3 hours out of our Charlie Banana but DS is only 8 months and not a heavy wetter. Also worth looking to see if the nappy is really wet or if you're getting wicking, if its wicking then you probably need to adjust the fit rather than the absorbency.

My avatar
KimmyM
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Postby KimmyM » Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:50 pm

We always struggle with pockets they just don't work on some heavy wetters.

My avatar
Ashley J
Clothie
Clothie

Postby Ashley J » Wed Nov 23, 2011 8:35 pm