New to cloth

My avatar
SuperKarenne
Clothie
Clothie

New to cloth

Postby SuperKarenne » Tue May 27, 2014 9:00 pm

Hi all
I'm a newbie and planning to start my cloth journey tomorrow. I have bought 10 eBay pocket nappies (little bloom) with which I bought 20 bamboo inserts. These say they are 4 layer, with 2 bamboo layers and 2 microfibre layers at the core. I also have fleece liners and flushable liners for the poo!

Should I start off with one insert and see how long I get out of it or go straight in with 2 inserts?
Would I be better with boosters instead of additional inserts?

I'm thinking of just using for daytime at the moment and getting some little lamb bamboo fitted for nighttime as they look good.

Also how do you know if bubs is a light/medium/heavy wetter? He's 7 months, having 30oz of formula, sips of water and small amounts of solids.

Thanks for any help in advance!

My avatar
clothmama
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Site Admin

Re: New to cloth

Postby clothmama » Wed May 28, 2014 10:05 am

Just wanted to say a quick welcome as I'm on my way to bed but will reply properly tomorrow! Oh and :yahoo: :yahoo: for starting your cloth journey!!

My avatar
sim
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman
Thankyou Moderators :)
Site Supporter

Postby sim » Wed May 28, 2014 10:15 am

Congratulations on starting your cloth journey. I'd start with a single insert and check it after 1 and 2 hours. I expect to get no more than 3 hours out of a cloth nappy (and that depends on the nappy I am using and the time of day). If one turns out to not be enough you can try two.

My boys have been heavy wetters up to about 8 / 9 months of age and then settled to medium-ish.
I have always used 6 or 8 layer bamboo inserts with a hemp booster underneath in pockets but your will find what combination works for you as each child is different.