Hi Newbie with a couple of questions...

My avatar
lisadainty
Clothie
Clothie

Hi Newbie with a couple of questions...

Postby lisadainty » Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:44 pm

Hi
I'm new to the cloth nappy world and am waiting for a 10 day trial through my council (coming this Wednesday) for my 8 week old baby boy (Alexander) and my 21 month old Joshua.
While I've been waiting for my trial I've bought 2 BG's V2 and 1 fuzzi bunz both birth to potty, both second hand, and 2 Mothercare smart nappies brand new. I have had no problems with the smart nappies and have been using the disposible inserts and the reusable inserts too, which have both been great.

When my Fuzzi Bunz and BG's arrived I washed them as per instructions and was soo excited to start using them.

I put 2 inserts (what came with it) into the fuzzi and placed it on Alex, it was far to bulky, I couldn't fasten his vest. He's 11lbs now. So I took one insert out and it fit lovely, I was soo pleased, but it only lasted just over an hour and half and it leaked I assume out of the legs as his vest was soaked on the sides :-(
Is this because I only used 1 insert? And what can I do to stop this?

As for the BG's I tried them on Alex and I couldn't get it to fit properly on him, to start with they gaped at the front so I tightened it up, then checked the back and sides and found I could fit my hand through the gapes in the legs :-(
Am I doing something wrong?

I was told that BG's were one of the best and have read so many rave reviews on them.

Is it me, or are they just no good for Alex and would he be better off with a fitted 2 part nappy?

What can you recommend?

Help please. (And soorry for the essay.)

Lisa
xx

My avatar
twinkletot
Cloth Nappy Disciple
Cloth Nappy Disciple

Re: Hi Newbie with a couple of questions...

Postby twinkletot » Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:54 pm

Hiya :idea: ,