hf1

Pockets on newborns?

My avatar
Frances
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman

Pockets on newborns?

Postby Frances » Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:16 pm

Anyone successfully use pockets from birth? I used fitteds from birth to 4 months, which is when I discovered pockets, so I have no experience of using pockets at that stage. It would be my preference though as we had a dreadful time fitting fitteds and wraps under sleepsuits, which I'd prefer bump to mainly wear for the first couple of months. Any advice would be much appreciated!

My avatar
Soupdragon
Cloth Nappy Worshipper
Cloth Nappy Worshipper

Re: Pockets on newborns?

Postby Soupdragon » Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:48 pm

Yep, I did. :) I has a WNSS, Fuzzi Bunz, Pocket Bots and a few BG in Iris' newborn stash. I found them all reliable and was especially surprised at how well the BG seemed to fit from birth, to say it's a OS nappy. (Although it was obviously more bulky than the others!) I preferred the popper nappies on Iris, mainly because they don't scratch like aplix when BF! DH definitely found tiny poppers tricky though, so tended to prefer the BG. The FB definitely had the most growing room of our sized pockets; the WN and PB didn't last many weeks on Iris. Mind, she was a big baby (an ounce under 9lb at birth). I actually really liked the Pocketbots for cost, reliability and cuteness. :)

My avatar
Frances
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman

Postby Frances » Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:50 pm

That's really helpful thanks Nichola. Jas was the same weight as Iris so not expecting a tiddler :D

My avatar
JenKyleKaitlinRoo
Cloth Nappy Fanatic
Cloth Nappy Fanatic

Postby JenKyleKaitlinRoo » Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:52 pm

Yep we used pockets from 2 days old and they worked just fine. He was 9lb6oz born but dropped to 8lb10oz.

We used BG sized AIO's in small, xs and small fuzzi bunz, greenkids BTP, Itti AIo's and blueberry side snaps.

I have a few pics if you want to see what any of them fitted like :wink: