Heavy wetter stuffing problems

My avatar
kittenattacks
Clothie
Clothie

Heavy wetter stuffing problems

Postby kittenattacks » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:08 am

Hi all,

DS wears flips most of the time and some ebay cheapies but i find I have to change him every 2 hours. I am quite new to cloth and I need some cheap ideas of what to stuff his nappies with to extend their life and to stop him being soaked. I have used the organic inserts with the flips but he still is wet all the time leaving him red..

I haven't even attempted to try a night nappy! I do have some ittis in the post but i'm not sure he will fit into them yet,

Any ideas?

My avatar
Kirstyh
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox

Re: Heavy wetter stuffing problems

Postby Kirstyh » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:18 am

You will probably need to use hemp and or bamboo inserts. A stay dry layer on top like fleece or minkee liner may help with the redness.How old is your lo?

My avatar
anothersquish
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Postby anothersquish » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:21 am

What kirsty said. Add hemp underneath and a fleece liner. The Flip inserts are not stay dry so will stay wet against his bum unless you add a stay dry layer like fleece which should solve your problem.
How much have the organic inserts been washed, as in are they quite new still?

My avatar
monsterm
Cloth Nappy Worshipper
Cloth Nappy Worshipper

Postby monsterm » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:22 am

Best pocket combination for heavy wetters is a bamboo double insert with a hemp booster underneath.

My avatar
kittenattacks
Clothie
Clothie

Postby kittenattacks » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:23 am

Kirstyh wrote:You will probably need to use hemp and or bamboo inserts. A stay dry layer on top like fleece or minkee liner may help with the redness.How old is your lo?

He is 5 months

My avatar
kittenattacks
Clothie
Clothie

Postby kittenattacks » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:24 am