Newbie advice please

My avatar
grace79
Clothie
Clothie

Newbie advice please

Postby grace79 » Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:06 am

Hello

I'm a newbie to these forums and also to cloth nappies. I've just started using a variety of preloved pocket nappies with my 12wk old daughter and so far, they have been good with absorbancy and leakage. I'm stuffing with prefolds - at least the bambinos came in useful for something - we didn't get on with those at all!

Anyway, I usually rinse the nappies straight after removal and I've just washed my first load, using Asda's own brand non bio at 60 degrees and with an extra rinse but it hasn't removed all the staining.

Any top tips and advice would be much appreciated, the more economical the better! I bought some fleece yesterday with the intention of making some liners but I've read conflicting advice about whether this works - I guess I'd be best just giving it a go?!

TIA
Grace

My avatar
Soupdragon
Cloth Nappy Worshipper
Cloth Nappy Worshipper
Site Supporter

Re: Newbie advice please

Postby Soupdragon » Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:21 am

Hello and welcome!

My washing routine is:

- dry pail the nappies (I don't bother rinsing at all - I don't find it makes any difference with BF poo!)
- do a cold wash without any detergent
- do a 60c wash with one tablet of Ariel (we used to use non-bio, but bio seems to work much better)
- line dry, whenever possible. Sun is a remarkable stain remover! And if it's raining, putting stained nappies on a windowsill to sun out works just as well, but can take a little longer.

We do use fleece liners, not because of staining but because it helps to keep DD's bum dry. Mind, it depends on the material of the nappy as to whether we always use fleece. Something like suedecloth (in a BumGenius) works like fleece for us, so we don't bother with fleece then.

HTH

My avatar
Annette
Cloth Nappy Ninky Nonk
Cloth Nappy Ninky Nonk

Postby Annette » Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:29 am