hf1

Composters (as in those of you that compost!)

My avatar
clothmama
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Site Admin

Composters (as in those of you that compost!)

Postby clothmama » Sun Oct 25, 2015 9:56 am

I just have a couple of questions as I'm totally new to composting!

What do you keep the compost in in your kitchen? I'm currently using the very unattractive option of a couple of old plastic mushroom boxes! I'd love something nicer, preferably with a lid but not sure what! I'll obivously be having chicken scraps too so probably need 2 of whatever I get. Any ideas?

How do you turn the compost that is in a bin? I keep reading that I'm supposed to but haven't been doing so :oops: and it seems like it is nigh on impossible to try to get a fork in there to do so. We also have some big compost piles which we've not been good at turning either but they have just sat there and done their thing over the summer and I'm guessing by spring we'll have some nice compost! I have tried to turn the biggest a bit but it is so hard to get into the centre. Any tips gratefully received!

I'm not sure who composts but giving it a guess with a few tags!

@autumnalgirl @confusinglady @Allie @mamavan2

My avatar
autumnalgirl
Cloth Nappy Passionata
Cloth Nappy Passionata

Re: Composters (as in those of you that compost!)

Postby autumnalgirl » Sun Oct 25, 2015 10:04 am

I do indeed compost. My bits in the kitchen are currently sat in an un glamorous takeaway container! I keep looking at a ceramic one on Amazon, but not likely to get round to buying it for a while. I can get a fork into mine so turn it over when I remember. The chickens are very naughty at trying to get into the compost and flick it all over the place looking for worms and other tasty treats!!!

My avatar
Allie
Cloth Nappy Clanger
Cloth Nappy Clanger

Postby Allie » Sun Oct 25, 2015 12:30 pm