hf1

Where to plant...in the ground or in pots/tubs/growbags etc?

My avatar
megansmummy
Cloth Nappy Goddess
Cloth Nappy Goddess

Where to plant...in the ground or in pots/tubs/growbags etc?

Postby megansmummy » Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:59 pm

Ok so by my posts im guessing you all know this gardening malarky is a bit new to us :oops: :giggle:

We have enough space to grow the veg in the ground but I cant decide wether thats best or wether its best to grow in containers? In containers I can control the earth ...where as in the ground im not sure what our soil is like? How can i prep the earth in the ground? what do i need to add?

Or is it just easier to plant them in pots/tubs/growbags etc??

My avatar
Sally
Cloth Nappy Fanatic
Cloth Nappy Fanatic

Re: Where to plant...in the ground or in pots/tubs/growbags etc?

Postby Sally » Sun Mar 28, 2010 2:05 pm

I got my free seeds and was going to use grow bags :-?
as im not very good at gardening my things don't grow :giggle: thought that would be easier,

My avatar
lazylexis
Cloth Nappy Worshipper
Cloth Nappy Worshipper

Postby lazylexis » Sun Mar 28, 2010 2:09 pm

We only have a yard and last year i managed to grow strawberries,courgettes,peppers,salad,spring onions,sugar snap peas and dwarf beans in pots.dh is building me a flower bed this year as i think it'll be easier!

My avatar
Woozle35
Cloth Nappy Disciple
Cloth Nappy Disciple

Postby Woozle35 » Sun Mar 28, 2010 2:10 pm

You can buy a soil tester from the garden centre, they cost a couple of pounds and will tell you the acidity/alkaline levels of your soil.

I only have a small patch of soil and a yard. The soil is planted with our fruit bushes. Over the years the majority of our fruit and veg has been grown in pots, grobags (tomatoes), hanging baskets, old pans, we had peas one year in old wellies :giggle: in fact once the hot weather kicks in anything i can find that holds compost gets planted :giggle: .