hf1

Purflo and Sleepcurve?

My avatar
Twinkletoes
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Purflo and Sleepcurve?

Postby Twinkletoes » Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:13 pm

Just wondering if anybody had used either of these mattress brands?

The Purflo seems to be a hollow frame with a mesh over it which acts as a mattress, supposedly great thermal properties, washable and no risk of suffocation. However, reviews are mixed.

The Sleepcurve is contoured with a dip for the head, supposedly better positioning of airways plus avoiding flat head syndrome.

We got on fine with regular mattresses last time, but there are features of these that intrigue me and I'm just curious to hear from anybody with firsthand knowledge.

My avatar
Manuela
Clothie
Clothie

Re: Purflo and Sleepcurve?

Postby Manuela » Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:20 pm

:wave: Hello, I'm a complete newbie, reading all about cloth (obviously :doh: ) but saw your post... we have a purflo mattress (several actually) and think they're great! :yahoo:
I love the fact that I can stick it all through the wash should my DS be sick or leak. We've also taken it travelling as it collapses down. Only thing I should say is to check the dimensions (to the last mm) of your cot/cotbed, I did read that sometimes purlos don't fit (as obviously the frame is not flexible) but we've not had that problem. We used to use an Angelcare monitor with the purlfo and the combination is not ideal but we only had a few false alarms until we got the setup just 'right' (angelcare alarm would go off when I know DS was perfectly fine - I was watching him breathe!),
How can I help you, what would you like to know?

My avatar
Twinkletoes
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Postby Twinkletoes » Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:37 pm

Oh thank you! I've been trying to hunt out enough reviews to let me order it, but I remain unconvinced!

I think my main question is how on earth it's strong enough to comfortably and firmly support a heavy toddler?