Toy storage and toy quantities?

My avatar
clothmama
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Site Admin

Toy storage and toy quantities?

Postby clothmama » Sun Apr 08, 2018 2:59 pm

Help - I am struggling with the mess of toys - I have bought a shelf - in theory everything has a place or a box to go in on the shelf. It is in the living room as he is still in our room - some books and the cuddly toys have just moved up as I bought him an Ikea shelf to go next to his bed. Part of the issue is that the floors are tile so everything just slides under the sofas and I'm slack at getting it out until it becomes a huge nightmare that involves an hours work :loopy: :x :x He isn't great at putting stuff away and I'm not good at making him, by the end of the day I just want to get him to bed and collapse :loopy: :loopy:
In terms of what he has there are labelled boxes - Cars, people / animals, Little People, Duplo, Play-doh, wooden blocks, a little 3 drawer thing with colouring stuff / stickers etc plus a pile of puzles (I guess I could find a basket for them), a wooden garage and a wooden castle.

A few questions:
  • How do you store your toddler / preschoolers toys?
  • How many do they have?
  • Do you rotate or use any system like that?

As they are open shelves I wonder if making a curtain would be a good way to go to help hide the mess visual clutter :loopy: :loopy:

My avatar
ems101
Cloth Nappy Disciple
Cloth Nappy Disciple

Re: Toy storage and toy quantities?

Postby ems101 » Sun Apr 08, 2018 3:46 pm

Nightmare mess especially after the birthday weekend.

We have a couple of boxes of cars/transformers. A box of dolly stuff, a box of brio train, a box of instruments, the games and puzzles and some books. Paints are restricted access, playdoh and colouring etc is in the craft cupboard in the kitchen. Closed storage would be much better I think. I also think less is more when it comes to toys!

My avatar
clothmama
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox