hf1

Using a dummy - help please

My avatar
Allie
Cloth Nappy Clanger
Cloth Nappy Clanger

Using a dummy - help please

Postby Allie » Tue Aug 04, 2009 10:42 am

I'm seriously considering getting Dexter a dummy as he's been particularly difficult to settle over the past week and i'm getting desperate and stressed :oops: . I never needed one for Harriet so I've no experience of them at all. Do/did you use one for your lo? When do you use it? Did you find it difficult to "wean" them off it when they reached toddlerhood? What type should I get?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm really undecided and need help

Thanks

My avatar
mabo
Cloth Nappy Fanatic
Cloth Nappy Fanatic

Re: Using a dummy - help please

Postby mabo » Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:08 am

We used them for both Joshua and Anna but not for very long. Joshua quickly showed us that the way to get him to sleep was to put him on his front, so we decided to that from about 9-10 weeks :oops: Then as he got a bit older he actually got attached to a Miffy comforter blanket and used to suck on one of the knots instead, but he soon outgrew that phase too.
And Anna found her thumb at about 10 weeks which made a big difference as she could settle herself back to sleep. Before that I remember spending many times leaning over her crib holding the dummy in as it would drop out when she started to fall asleep and then she'd wake up again :roll:

We only ever gave them the dummy at bed/naptime though so as soon as they were awake it was not given to them to keep them quiet.
For Joshua we got the Tommee Tippee Orthodontic ones but for Anna we used the flat ones as the orthodontic ones were just too big for her.

Good luck! :hug:

My avatar
Velvetsteph
Cloth Nappy Clanger
Cloth Nappy Clanger

Postby Velvetsteph » Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:32 pm

Both Grace and Isabelle have had them - Grace still has hers...