Newbie seeking lots of info

My avatar
teganplus2
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Newbie seeking lots of info

Postby teganplus2 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 9:54 am

Morning ladies,

I am a complete newbie to the world of cloth, I planned to use them with my first but due to the first 6 months of her life being spent in hospital with nappies being weighed this wasn't possible and then I just never got round to it :oops: , but having recently added twins to my brood I have decided that now is the time to make the switch for all three of them and have decided on pocket nappies, I am anxiously awaiting delivery of some from ebay (believe they are called dudeybaba nappies) and a starter kit from baba & boo. However I do not have a clue what I am doing and could do with help!!

How do liners work? They all come with 2 but surely I would need more than this?
I have read advice on layering liners hemp, bamboo, microfibre, is this the best way to go about it? (meaning I do indeed need more liners)
Do you use a fresh nappy each change? I have read somewhere that you don't always need to but surely if liner is inside nappy then the bit that sits next to their skin will be wet meaning a change would be needed?
What is the best way to wash them?
What is the best powder to use?

I think I will leave my questions at that for now, although I know I will have many more.

I have been generally appalled at the lack of advice available in the "real world" on cloth and people's reactions when I have said that I am changing have undoubtably been all negative which has made me :( so I have retired to the virtual world in the hope of gaining knowledge from like minded mamas!!

T
x x
Ohh by the way my eldest is 20 months (although a tiny girl, still being in 6-9/9-12month clothes) and my tiny's are 14 weeks old girl/boy

xx

My avatar
Bugglyboo
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Re: Newbie seeking lots of info

Postby Bugglyboo » Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:22 am