hf1

Overweight and labour

My avatar
smilinglou
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Overweight and labour

Postby smilinglou » Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:38 am

I've always been slim but on new medication I gained about 3 stone in a year, I'm size 18 and get out of breath easily.
Will labour be more difficult? How do I prepare for pushing etc?

I really went for it when pushing my son out as I knew I was on a time limit (vbac) and just wanted it over, I was induced and on the drip and had an epidural as the pain is more intense with the drip. I remember how hard it was and am a bit worried about ending with a c section this time or forceps etc

My avatar
JabberJabber
Cloth Nappy Prophet
Cloth Nappy Prophet

Re: Overweight and labour

Postby JabberJabber » Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:50 am

I'm not a medical professional so please don't take my thoughts as perfect advice.

However, are you able to get a level of fitness suitable to your stage of pregnancy? Are you able to go to some pregnancy yoga or plates sessions or go to a prenatal swimming group? Improving core muscle strength and general fitness was something suggested for me when I was pregnant with Isaac, but totally designed for being pregnant.

My avatar
smilinglou
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Postby smilinglou » Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:27 am

I get really anxious going out so it's difficult but I could do something at home perhaps

My avatar
JabberJabber
Cloth Nappy Prophet
Cloth Nappy Prophet

Postby JabberJabber » Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:56 am

Have you been able to talk to your midwife about your concerns?

My avatar
girlinleeds
Cloth Nappy Guru
Cloth Nappy Guru

Postby girlinleeds » Thu Jan 07, 2016 12:34 pm

I know all pregnancies are different, but due to my hip problems I ended up massively overweight, my bmi was 35+ and other than issues with positioning due to severe spd I had no issues with labour itself. if you can try to do some exercise to improve your health abit it could only make things easier xxx