hf1

Pre fold v fitted? What's best for newborn and beyond?

My avatar
K3lly1985
Clothie
Clothie

Pre fold v fitted? What's best for newborn and beyond?

Postby K3lly1985 » Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:43 pm

Hi.
I'm new to cloth and just want to know what your thoughts are.
I'm due may, so getting my stash together now! :pregnant:
So far I have 8 tots bots bamboozles and 3 wraps. I'm also going to get some bambio mio prefold newborn nappies, and wraps. I think 23 nappies and 4 wraps (size 1)

I'm thinking of using the prefolds at home and the fitted when I go out. But what do u think I should have more of? Fitter or pre folds? Are prefolds loads more work? I know once baby gets bigger and wriggles more fitted easier, but for a newborn upto about 6 months old what would u suggest?

I'm guessing the prefolds I can wash with my fitted? And from what I've read as long as I use the right fold (having a boy) they should be as reliable as a fitted?

Also what boosters shall I use? Obviously my tots bots have the booster, but for the prefolds do u think I should get some? And use liners? As my baby going to be Breast fed not sure liners would do much good???

Thanks in advance for all ur help and I hope I've not gone on too much? :oops:

My avatar
Bugglyboo
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Re: Pre fold v fitter? What's best for newborn and beyond?

Postby Bugglyboo » Sat Mar 17, 2012 8:13 pm

I love prefolds and found them really useful when Eddie was teething and had really awful poo. I would suggest getting a few more fitteds as my hubby will not under any circumstances use prefolds :giggle:
I use a nippa with our prefolds so that I can use wool over the top.
You can also get bamboo prefolds and prefolds with stay dry layers. I think Owe Woah When do scrumptious prefolds.
If you don't want to go for the more absorbant prefolds then you can always boost between the prefolds and the wrap. Little lamb boosters are highly recommended.
I hope that helps.