Best for chunkies?

My avatar
Bumblingbee
Clothie
Clothie

Best for chunkies?

Postby Bumblingbee » Sun Jul 11, 2010 5:51 pm

Hi all,

I'm new to this cloth business :idea: but have tried a couple of clothies as my sister has loads for her little one. Only thing is, her baby is 17months old and only a couple of pounds difference in weight with my 4 month old! My daughter is well over 16lbs now and has the chunkiest, most edible thighs in the world. So i know cloth bums create bulk, but which do you think are the best for chunky monkey's like mine?

Thanks!

My avatar
Shaunie
Cloth Nappy Worshipper
Cloth Nappy Worshipper

Re: Best for chunkies?

Postby Shaunie » Sun Jul 11, 2010 6:02 pm

Hi, Are you looking at pocket nappies or 2 parters?

My avatar
Emma1977
Cloth Nappy Passionata
Cloth Nappy Passionata

Postby Emma1977 » Sun Jul 11, 2010 6:28 pm

Bumblingbee wrote:My daughter is well over 16lbs now and has the chunkiest, most edible thighs in the world.

:giggle: Nothing better than a pair of tasty, munchable bubba thighs is there..???? My DS was a chunk 9lbs 30z monkey from birth and now, at 18 momths, he still has them even tho his waist has slimmed down a lot. I enjoy nothing better than having a good nibble on them whenever I can :giggle:

As for nappies that suit chunky babies. For pockets and AIOs I would say stick with applix or side-snapping nappies as they will allow a better, snugger fit than front-fastening. I found that I got lots of gape around the wasit and thighs with front-fastening pockets which resulted in more leaks. Good examples of applix pockets are: BumGenius, Happy Heinys and Greenkids. For side-snapping pockets give Weentions a whirl as they are a very snug fit.

For fitteds I don't have as much as a problem and have quite a few front-fastening ones as I always use wool with fitteds and this stops any potential leaks.