hf1

What's the deal with barrier creams?

My avatar
Mungo
Cloth Nappy Nutter
Cloth Nappy Nutter

What's the deal with barrier creams?

Postby Mungo » Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:08 pm

I'm a newbie and have just started using cloth nappies... are barrier creams a no no? I always used sudocrem on LO when he was in sposies but I've read that it's not great for real nappies... Are some better than others or is it best to use none at all?

My avatar
flossyfly
Cloth Nappy Nutter
Cloth Nappy Nutter

Re: What's the deal with barrier creams?

Postby flossyfly » Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:20 pm

You only really need it if LO is sore. If I ever use a cream then I put a removable liner in so the cream doesn't get on the actualnappy fabric. If the cream gets on your nappies it can effect the absorbancy.
:wave:

My avatar
Cj2011
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Postby Cj2011 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:24 pm

I use caldesene powder if I need to use something but thats very rarely. If you do need to use a barrier cream pop in a paper liner :thumbsup:

My avatar
Kirstyh
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox

Postby Kirstyh » Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:37 pm

I agree only use it if needed not every nappy change. pop in a liner so that the cream doesn't come in to contact with the nappy x

My avatar
docmaggoo
Cloth Nappy Aficionado
Cloth Nappy Aficionado

Postby docmaggoo » Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:45 pm

Kirstyh wrote:I agree only use it if needed not every nappy change. pop in a liner so that the cream doesn't come in to contact with the nappy x

We used fleece liners to "protect the nappy" when using creams.
This way we've managed to use all sorts - sudocrem/ bepanthan & metanium with no probs.

tbh - the best solution to a sore bottom is nappy free time - as much as you can.
Obviously you need nappies at night/ when out - but at home, we've just dealt the the puddles when DS had a sore bottom - much less discomfort for him & heals bottom quicker.

My avatar
Mungo
Cloth Nappy Nutter
Cloth Nappy Nutter