Getting started with a sewing machine

My avatar
kazzads
Clothie
Clothie

Getting started with a sewing machine

Postby kazzads » Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:00 pm

Hi Ladies,

I think it's about time I got crafty so I've asked DH for a sewing machine for Christmas. Since I've never tried are there any websites etc useful for a complete beginner? What's a really good machine? I've asked for a singer 1409...

Thank you! :-) xx

My avatar
mangajude
Cloth Nappy Nutter
Cloth Nappy Nutter

Re: Getting started with a sewing machine

Postby mangajude » Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:29 pm

YouTube is brilliant for basic toutoirals. And there are a lot of simple patterns on the net. www.prudentbaby.com is great for good patterns and there a lot of links via pintrest!

My avatar
MissFrodo
Cloth Nappy Prophet
Cloth Nappy Prophet

Postby MissFrodo » Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:22 pm

First of all, :yahoo: for a sewing machine.

I had a Singer before the Husqvarna I have now and think they are good machines.

Lots of info on the net or you can ask one of us if you get stuck ;)

What type of items do you have on your list?

My avatar
kazzads
Clothie
Clothie

Postby kazzads » Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:51 pm

Aah thanks ladies.

I GOT MY MACHINE!!! :widesmile:

I haven't got a list of things to make with it yet. I haven't even got cotton!! Hahahahhaaaa

I will need to have a google for inspiration. What kind of things did you start with? xx

My avatar
labbiefan
Cloth Nappy Nutter
Cloth Nappy Nutter

Postby labbiefan » Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:56 pm

I borrowed my Mums machine before Christmas and made minky taggie blankets. my dd loves them so I consider them a success :)

My avatar
gilbertandmartha
Cloth Nappy Aficionado
Cloth Nappy Aficionado

Postby gilbertandmartha » Thu Dec 27, 2012 5:48 pm

Mu only advice would be to have some ideas BEFORE you look at fabric! I seem to keep buying fabric but no idea what to make with it. Then I decide to make something and havent got enough fabric for it. Frustrating.