hf1

Advice on making a nappy that doesn't rub or leak! :)

My avatar
piccola15
Clothie
Clothie

Advice on making a nappy that doesn't rub or leak! :)

Postby piccola15 » Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:32 pm

Hi there,

I am quite new to reusable nappies and I like them however my baby has eczema and the nappies I have seem to be making it come up quite bad on his tummy. I am now wondering if I can make a nappy that will be soft on his skin but also keep the wee locked in!

For some background, I am currently using Little Lambs with Little Lamb & Nature Babies wraps and also have Itti Bittis for day use when I am out and about or for my other nappy changers to use! I like both of these; the Itti Bittis because they are soft and the little lambs because they are soft and absorbent and I never have leaks with those. I'd like to make one that does both of those things but I need it to be lined with something that keeps the wetness from his skin. I'm not too bothered about bulk as long as it doesn't restrict him or dig in.

I've never made a nappy before so I don't really know where to start! Any suggestions about layers would be great. If possible I would like both the outer and inner to be minkee type fabric as I know this doesn't irritate my eczema so I'm hoping it'll be ok on him. I can't use wool because he's allergic to it and I did try fleece wraps for breath-ability but his clothes kept getting wet.

Thanks in advance!

Jenna :)

My avatar
Bugglyboo
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Re: Advice on making a nappy that doesn't rub or leak! :)

Postby Bugglyboo » Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:51 pm

I use the darling diapers pattern. Its fab and gives options for pocket and fitted nappies and then you can choose front or side fastening.