The wreath project!

My avatar
clothmama
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Site Admin

The wreath project!

Postby clothmama » Mon Oct 05, 2015 7:55 pm

I've been wanting to make a wreath for such a long time and after some online searching I saw lots of tutorials for wreaths made with grapevine - and what do you know I just happen to have a couple of totally overgrown ones of those hanging around and each end of our barn :hohoho: :hohoho:

One of the tutorials I read said that if you actually make two wreaths, one slightly smaller than the other then join them you get a much better relief which will make it look better from the road / distance. Who am I to argue as I've never done it before and that is what I did! I made it a pretty decent size too as our front door is currently massive double barn doors. I then added a bunch of oak leaves with some acorns pods tied with some natural rope in the corner to add an autumnal theme to it. I'll then swap it over for a Christmas theme later in the year :happysanta: !

Absolutely thrilled with the results:

Some of the vines were quite young so they were quite light and there were even a few green bits you may notice - I quite like the look but think it will look good once it all dries as well :)

My avatar
clothmama
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Site Admin

Re: Today's autumnal project!

Postby clothmama » Mon Oct 05, 2015 7:57 pm

Oh and if I can find some stunning red / yellow / orange leaves I may well be adding to it :D

My avatar
clothmama
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Site Admin

Postby clothmama » Mon Oct 05, 2015 7:59 pm

My other ongoing autumn project is collecting all the autumn bounty in the garden. Today saw the biggest haul of walnuts after some heavy rain and wind on Saturday, not sure where on earth I can fit them all to lay out to dry! Hoping for some sun so they can go on the terrace!