Will someone please tell me if I'm mad!

My avatar
tiyuricc
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Will someone please tell me if I'm mad!

Postby tiyuricc » Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:40 am

I never nested when pregnant with DS.

But given my thoughts the last couple of days, I'm thinking I must be now.

I have not knitted since I was about 12 years old, and hated it then. And can't remember how.
But I've now had the crazy idea that during my 3.5weeks mat leave before bubs is due I might try to knit a blanket.
I've picked out some lovely coloured wool on LLS, but have no idea how to go about this...

So my question is... for a complete and absolute beginner, is knitting a very very basic blanket in a couple of weeks possible? Or am I being completely mad at even considering this?

If there is any remote possibility of this happening, has anyone got suggestions where I might find a basic 'how to'?

Maybe I should just scrub floors instead...

My avatar
Vicki
Cloth Nappy Addict
Cloth Nappy Addict

Re: Will someone please tell me if I'm mad!

Postby Vicki » Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:01 am

scrub floors :giggle: :giggle: or eat choccie and watch tv :giggle:

I would like to be able to knit but I am like you - knitted scarves in Primary school :giggle:

I do hope it goes well if you do embark on your project - share piccies :D

Vicki

My avatar
megansmummy
Cloth Nappy Goddess
Cloth Nappy Goddess

Postby megansmummy » Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:08 am

Of course you can!! :mrgreen:

I decided I wanted to knit Ds some longies and picked up knitting needles for the first time since I was about 9 when nan used to try and teach me to knit...i picked a pattern...asked ALOT of questions on here and I did it! :wine:

I used you tube for tutorials on knitting, purling, cast on, cast off etc :wink:

My avatar
tiyuricc
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Postby tiyuricc » Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:19 am

OMG Tory, that looks amazing! Can't believe you hadn't done it before.