hf1

What am I looking for?

My avatar
Hannahboo
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

What am I looking for?

Postby Hannahboo » Tue May 31, 2011 2:36 pm

This may be a really stupid question but I am pretty new to making things and wanted to make sure I am looking at the right thing before I order anything.

Basically I want to make some bandana bibs and t-shirts for Darcy. Have made a couple of bibs already out of some fleece I had and I have cut up a few old sleepsuits to make them so far, but what do I call the kind of fabric tshirts/sleepsuits etc are made out of? On the labels it just say cotton/polyester. Obviously I need something with a bit of stretch in it for tshirts!

Hopefully this question doesn't make me sound really stupid :giggle:

My avatar
kermitgirl
Cloth Nappy Groupie
Cloth Nappy Groupie

Re: What am I looking for?

Postby kermitgirl » Tue May 31, 2011 2:38 pm

cotton jersey I think. If it is for bibs and other small things getting large men's tshirts from supermarkets (like when Sainsburys has 25% off all clothes) may work out cheaper than buying off a roll.

My avatar
choccylisa
Cloth Nappy Aficionado
Cloth Nappy Aficionado

Postby choccylisa » Tue May 31, 2011 2:42 pm

Cotton jersey, cotton interlock, knit jersey, rib jersey...!! T-shirting fabric if you're looking at Fabricland.co.uk :roll:

If you're wanting a metre of the same colour to make a few then look on www.tissu.co.uk, they do cotton interlock etc on there for a good price :wink:

My avatar
Hannahboo
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Postby Hannahboo » Tue May 31, 2011 3:28 pm

Thanks, at least now I know what I am looking for :giggle:

Hoping to get some nice patterned fabric, but from googling looks like I am going to have to buy from the US, unless anyone knows of anywhere else in UK that does it? Cost wise, I don't really mind as would rather have nice pattern/quality as thinking of making some to sell/give as presents as well x

My avatar