hf1

Help me decide!

My avatar
sim
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman

Help me decide!

Postby sim » Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:32 am

I want a sewing machine! I am a novice, but looking at mid range machines rather than really cheap ones, especially as I would like to make nappies for any future LOs... :wink:

After an earlier thread was bumped up ( @Frances ), I am considering this one: http://www.sewingmachinediscount.co.uk/best-sellers/brother/xr6600/8781-c60-v0.htm

BUT I have also heard good things about Husqvarnas (and more recently from @clothmama and @Soupdragon )

So looking at this one
http://www.sewingmachinediscount.co.uk/best-sellers/viking-husqvarna/emerald-116/8785-c160-v0.htm
and this one
http://www.sewingmachinediscount.co.uk/sewing-machines/viking-husqvarna/emerald-118/8786-c160-v0.htm
Was keen on the 122 after Tory and Nichola's recommendation, but no one seems to have it in stock and the 118 is very similar.

The sticking point is that I can afford the Brother one NOW but the Husqvarnas are over my budget and I would need to wait until about March / April (possible later if I find a 122!) to get one

What would you do? Is the difference between the machines significant? Do I really need to sweet talk DH into a 118 NOW :giggle:

My avatar
Allie
Cloth Nappy Clanger
Cloth Nappy Clanger
Thankyou Moderators :)

Re: Help me decide!

Postby Allie » Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:33 pm

Not sure about the models linked to but be very wary of buying from that company, their aftersales service isn't the best and they charge you quite a bit if you need to return your machine for repairs etc. My dh bought my first overlocker from there and I ended up paying for it to be repaired locally even though it was supposed to be under warranty :-?

If you google the company there are loads of complaints.....

My avatar
sim
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman
Cloth Nappy Wise Woman

Postby sim » Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:48 pm