Does anyone avoid grains for babies? Need some help

My avatar
Grrushka
Cloth Nappy Follower
Cloth Nappy Follower

Does anyone avoid grains for babies? Need some help

Postby Grrushka » Sun Apr 08, 2012 8:52 pm

Hi,

I have recently come across some articles saying that babies should not really eat any grains before they are about 2 or at least 1. Apparently they are not able to digest it all and the excess can damage their gut etc. Boris has got eczema which is pretty much settled now but I am trying to modify his diet at the mo as I'm sure it is related.
He is already off dairy although we do goats cheese which he is fine with. I am studying nutrition but that's my fist year of biomedicine so haven't covered any of that yet:(

I have a really nice and knowledgeable lady in my local health food shop and she advised not to give him too much grains and especially gluten.

We eat a lot of bread, pasta and other flour based things in this house so it is quite difficult to change everything overnight, especially as these are some of the easiest snacks/meals to give to him(doing BLW).
I thought maybe I could reduce the amounts that he is having and maybe avoid gluten all together? :-?

He will be 11 months this month so he's already had quite a lot of the stuff but I suppose it is never too late.

Would really appreciate some advice and maybe some recipies. Especially for tasty gluten free breads:)

My avatar
littlesez
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Site Supporter

Re: Does anyone avoid grains for babies? Need some help

Postby littlesez » Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:05 pm

I *TRY* to avoid grains as wheat especially makes me bloated and at worst stomach cramps. we tend to eat lots of potatoes and high carb veg like sweet potatoe, butternut squash, parsnips, celeriac ect. instead xx

My avatar
Kirstyh
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox
Cloth Nappy Chatterbox

Postby Kirstyh » Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:16 pm