hf1

Experiences of being a childminder?!?!?

My avatar
jclmellor
Cloth Nappy Nutter
Cloth Nappy Nutter

Experiences of being a childminder?!?!?

Postby jclmellor » Mon Feb 06, 2012 7:04 pm

does anyone work as a childminder? advice needed please!!!!!!!!!

i'm thinking of training to become a childminder because my DD is 13 months and i'm expecting another baby in june. the childcare course is free and quite easy to complete (though time consuming...) and would be useful in case hubby is made redundant.

but i'm not sure about becoming a childminder... how on earth could i cope with two of my own kiddies plus minded children (!!!) - i'm shattered with just one baby atm! also, i've got no experience of older children, i find it daunting to be "watched" or scrutinised, as childminders are (e.g. by other mums at toddler groups) and our house is very small. being a childminder i might make about £100 a week after tax but i'm not sure whether this is worth all the stress/extra work and having the house wrecked. i'm also really sad that i would have to leave my career as i really love my job but atm there are no jobs in my field in the local area.

thanks

:-? :-? :-?

My avatar
zoeyboo
Cloth Nappy Aficionado
Cloth Nappy Aficionado

Re: Experiences of being a childminder?!?!?

Postby zoeyboo » Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:01 pm

My old childminder had a DD of 2 and then looked after a little girl aged 18 months 5 days a week & then Rufus 2 days so they were all a similar age & fitted into the sorts of activities she wanted to do with her DD. You don't have to have lots, or older ones you can set down how many spaces you offer & to what ages.
That said after school ones can be easier to look after & age 7-8+ cn be the hardest to find care for.

My avatar
chocmuffin
Sucker for Cloth Nappies
Sucker for Cloth Nappies

Re: Experiences of being a childminder?!?!?

Postby chocmuffin » Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:14 pm

:wave: I'm a childminder :lol:

There is lots of info & lovely ppl on here-